Lakeland Beyond - your passport to Cumbria and the Lake District North Cumbria with Lakeland Beyond Eastern Fells of Cumbria with Lakeland Beyond South Lakeland with Lakeland Beyond West Cumbria with Lakeland Beyond Cumbria - catering for your special interests In touch with Lakeland

Lakeland Beyond
Eastern Fells
Northern Cumbria
South Lakeland
West Cumbria
Route Map Cumbria
in touch with Lakeland Beyond
Cumbria: Four Easy Bites
Regional Map of Cumbria divided into our abitary regions and showing the National Park Boundary.
Buttons to the left of the map connect with information about each region.
See also our map of main road and rail routes (link to left)

+44 (0)1900 824329
+44 (0)7812 210880

UPDATED: 12/2013

For extra information,
or if you cannot find
what you are looking for,
please call us on

+44 (0)1900 824329
+44 (0)7812 210880
or e-mail us at:
North Cumbria - Carlisle & the Borders
North Cumbria - Maryport & the Solway Firth
North Cumbria - Keswick and the north lakes
Penrith, Alston and the Eden Valley
Eamont - Ullswater and Haweswater
The Pennines - Appleby, Kirkby Stephen and Sedbergh
South Lakeland - Brathay, Rothay, Langdale and Grasmere
Crake Valley - Coniston and Grizedale
Leven Valley - Windermere and Hawkshead
Kendal with the Lune, Kent, Winster and Lyth Valleys
Morecambe Bay - Barrow, Ulverston and the Cartmel and Furness Peninsulas
Cockermouth, Lorton Vale, Crummock Water and Buttermere
Ehen - Whitehaven, Egremont, Ennerdale & St Bees
Irt - Wasdale, Gisforth, Irton and Seascale
Eskdale and the Duddon Valley


The map on the right has been created to indicate the different regions covered by Wainright's famous mountain walking guides. This set of books, recently updated and republished by Frances Lincoln, are essentail items for any serious Lakeland fell waker. Wainright carefully divided the fells of the Lake District into seven regions, or mountain groups, bounded by the rivers or valleys. As can be seen, the valleys are rather like spokes radiating from a hub, and the regions take advantage of this. The area covered by each book as been marked with the colour traditionally used for the book cover. In addition to these books, an additional 'Guide to the Outlying Fells' was produced which describes walks up many of the lower fells which surround the main mountain area, often easy walks but with rewarding views.

Lakeland Beyond
Your Key to Cumbria and the English Lake District

Cockermouth, Cumbria CA13 0RA
; Tel. +44 (0) 7812 210880; Email.

Copyright © 2013 Lakeland Beyond